Supports organisations & projects which enhance our community

+ Menu Find us on

The Trust, originally known as the Porirua District Community Trust, was established as a charitable trust in 1977 for the purpose of ‘supporting organisations and projects which enhance the local community’. Over the years the Trust has distributed funds derived from a variety of sources to a wide range of community organisations to assist them in achieving their objectives.

As a result of the substantial financial input provided in earlier years by the former Porirua Licensing Trust, the Trust has developed a significant investment portfolio.

The Trust’s ability to grow its asset base is very dependent on the performance of its two managed investment portfolios, which in turn significantly influences the extent to which it can increase its level of community support. Currently, the major level of this support comprises the provision of tertiary scholarships for each of Porirua’s colleges and funding to Whitireia Foundation to provide scholarships to Porirua students attending Whitireia Polytechnic.

Structure of Trust Porirua

The Trust is governed by a Board consisting of the six elected members of Porirua Community Trust. Tim Sheppard is the Chair and Eleanor Cater is the Deputy Chair.

The Trust’s property interests are managed by Barry Smith Consultancy Limited and its investment portfolio (excluding property) is managed under respective agreements with First NZ Capital and Gareth Morgan Investments

To oversee the management of the Trust’s assets and to evaluate all property investments and developments the Trust has a Property & Investment Committee. This committee is currently comprised of three trustees, namely Tim Sheppard (Chair), Eleanor Cater, John Burke and Izzy Ford.